“Palazzo Doria Pamphilj” Museum is located in the building of the same name and is divided into two thematic sections on the ground floor and the first floor, also known as the “piano nobile” (main floor). The archaeological section on the ground floor illustrates and documents the sites discovered during the preliminary excavations of the construction of the high-speed train line that crosses the Valmontone territory. The section covers a vast chronological span ranging from the 4th century B.C. to the 4th A.D.
The historical-artistic section is represented by the splendid series of frescoes preserved in the eleven halls of the “piano nobile”. The iconographic program focuses on the depiction of the allegories of the Four Elements and the Four Continents. The Hall of the Prince, completely frescoed by Gaspard Dughet and Guillaume Courtois, and two small chapels with depictions of Saint Agnes and God complete the visit.
The series of frescoes was commissioned by Prince Camillo Pamphilj between 1658 and 1659 and was carried out by some of the most important representatives of the artistic landscape of the time: Francesco Cozza, Pierfrancesco Mola, the previously mentioned Dughet and Courtois, Giambattista Tassi and Mattia Preti, who was called on to decorate the vault of the “Aria” in 1661.
Campagna fotografica realizzata nell’ambito del progetto “Oltre Roma” e finanziata dalla Regione Lazio, Avviso Pubblico “La cultura fa sistema 2021”