The Colonna Station Railway-Museum aims to preserve the Colonna station complex, consisting of passenger buildings, a cargo warehouse, the station service area and approximately 500 metres of tracks, which are the last suburban stretch that remains of the former Rome-Fiuggi-Frosinone Railway, as well as the railway’s “historical” rolling stock.
The passenger building now contains a collection of railway objects and tools, a photographic collection of “life in the station”, and various documents linked to the railway. The small former services building is now used as a reception area and shop. The distinctive cargo warehouse building has also been completely renovated, enhancing its unusual architectural features.
The last remaining rolling stock of “historical” interest of the railway have been refurbished. These include a locomotive “4” from 1916, an electromotive train “434” from 1921, an articulated car “472-111” from 1949, an articulated electric train “801” from 1953, various cargo wagons, a ladder wagon no. 197, and a railway jeep, to name a few. Other rolling stock from the Rome-Viterbo and Rome-Lido lines dating back to the 1920s and 1930s have been added. Some of the rolling stock and buildings are already considered assets subject to restrictions by the Sovrintendenza.
The Railway Museum has received recognition from the Cultural Services of the Province of Rome, the patronage of the Municipality of San Cesareo in which the museum area is located, and recognition from the Municipality of Colonna, to which the station is historically linked.